Home | Careers | Font size A A A
11/18/2014 - 11.18.14 County Executive Ken Ulman Announces that Playing Fields at Blandair Park Now Named for Delegate Frank Turner READ MORE
9/27/2014 - 09.27.14 Executive Ulman Opens Troy Park at Elkridge, Howard County’s Eighth Regional Park READ MORE
9/26/2014 - 09.26.14 Executive Ulman to Open Howard County’s Eighth Regional Park – Troy Park at Elkridge READ MORE
9/24/2014 - 09.24.14 Executive Ulman Leads Preview Tour of Troy Park at Elkridge – Howard County’s Eighth Regional Park READ MORE
9/23/2014 - 09.23.14 Department of Recreation & Parks Announces Deer Management Program for 2014-2015 READ MORE
9/6/2014 - 09.06.14 South Branch Park Set to Open in Sykesville READ MORE
9/5/2014 - Howard County Government and Town of Sykesville to Open South Branch Park Playground READ MORE
7/1/2014 - 07.01.14 Howard County Announces 2014 “Community Sports Hall of Fame” Induction Class READ MORE
6/17/2014 - 06.17.14 Howard County Recreation & Parks Opens Renovated Tennis Courts at Centennial Park READ MORE
6/16/2014 - 06.16.14 Howard County Recreation & Parks to Open Renovated Tennis Courts at Centennial Park READ MORE

Volunteer Opportunities - Recreation and Parks

Family Volunteer Day

Thank you for your interest in volunteering with Howard County Recreation & Parks! Potential volunteer opportunities are listed below. Please use the point of contact listed in each area to learn more about available positions.

Please note: Criminal background checks are required for certain programs for volunteers 18 years old and over.

Fall and Winter 2014 Volunteer Opportunities 

To volunteer with Howard County Recreation and Parks, you must:

  • Be at least 18 years of age or have parental consent and adult supervision(ages 13-17)
  • Complete the Volunteer Application and Agreement form
  • Be a good role model with a positive attitude
  • If age 18-over, complete a Background Release Form, if required for the position (more information on background checks)
  • Review and adhere to the policies and procedures in the Volunteer Handbook 

Apply online to become a volunteer. Fill out one of the online application forms listed below. First-time volunteers complete the NEW form and returning volunteers complete the RETURNING form. If you prefer to send your information by other methods, download the Fillable PDF and e-mail, mail or fax it to the appropriate person. For general information, contact Shawnté Berry, Volunteer Manager, at 410-313-4624 or sberry@howardcountymd.gov. 

After-School Programs
Online Form (New) (Returning) | Fillable PDF (New) (Returning)
Contact: Jennene Blakely, Recreation Coordinator at 410-313-1693 or jpblakely@howardcountymd.gov.

Belmont Manor
Online Form (New) (Returning) | Fillable PDF (New) (Returning)
Contact: Cathy Allen, Recreation Coordinator at 410-313-1686 or callen@howardcountymd.gov.

Heritage Programs
Online Form (New) (Returning) | Fillable PDF (New) (Returning)
Contact: Caitlin Chamberlain, Recreation Coordinator at 410-313-0420 or cchamberlain@howardcountymd.gov. (Heritage Volunteer Manual)

Meadowbrook Athletic Complex
Online Form (New) (Returning) | Fillable PDF (New) (Returning)
Contact: Matt Knoerlein, Recreation Coordinator at 410-313-1163 or mknoerlein@howardcountymd.gov.

Middle Patuxent Environmental Area
Online Form (New) (Returning) | Fillable PDF (New) (Returning)
Contact: Jeff Claffy, Natural Resources Technician at 410-313-6209 or jclaffy@howardcountymd.gov. (MPEA Volunteer Manual)

Natural Resources
Online Form (New) (Returning) | Fillable PDF (New) (Returning)
Contact: Sue Muller, Natural Resources Technician at 410-313-4697 or smuller@howardcountymd.gov.

Park Ranger Ride-A-Long
Online Form (New) (Returning) | Fillable PDF (New) (Returning)
Contact: Nicholas Brightwell, Park Ranger at 410-313-0415 or nbrightwell@howardcountymd.gov.

Robinson Nature Center
Volunteer Application
Contact: Brian Campbell, Volunteer Coordinator at 410-313-0406 or bcampbell@howardcountymd.gov. (Robinson Nature Center Volunteer Manual)

Sports Coaches
To become a coach you must be entered into the Coaches Registry. Click here for more information.
Contact: Beth Snyder, Coaches Registry Administrator at 410-313-4630 or bsnyder@howardcountymd.gov.

Special Events, Community Centers, Other
One-Day Special Event Volunteer Application
Online Form (New) (Returning) | Fillable PDF (New) (Returning)
Contact: Shawnte Berry, Volunteer Manager at 410-313-4624 or sberry@howardcountymd.gov.

Therapeutic Recreation Programs
Online Form (New) (Returning) | Fillable PDF (New) (Returning)
Contact: Ruth Coleman, Recreation Coordinator at 410-313-4708 or rucoleman@howardcountymd.gov.